Meet the Board

Board MembersJerry Mallory
Past Chairman Mallory - CBO - Kansas

Jerry Mallory began his career as a building inspector in 1990, with Johnson County, Kansas. Since 1993, he has served the unincorporated portion of Johnson County as the Building Official and Fire Marshal. He is a Certified Building Official, Certified Building Inspector, Certified Fire Inspector, Certified Electrical Inspector, Certified Zoning Enforcement Officer, and has received the Certificate of Achievement from the Emergency Management Institute. Currently Jerry is the Chairman of the Board of the International Association of Building Officials and serves on the International Code Council (ICC) Building Official Membership Council Governing Committee. In the past he has served on the ICC Disaster Response Committee, ICC Governance Committee, NFPA Building Code Development Committee, and the FEMA/NIBS Committee responsible for developing a national standards manual for disaster responders. Jerry served the citizens of Kansas as the Coordinator for the Kansas Disaster Assessment Team until 2010. During his tenure as Coordinator, Jerry led teams of trained assessment inspectors in response to Hurricane Katrina, tornado or flood events in Johnson County, Merriam, Prairie Village, Lenexa, Shawnee, Overland Park, Tonganoxie, Parsons, Hoisington, Pratt, Plainville, and Augusta, Kansas. He also responded with the FEMA Building Performance Assessment Team (BPAT) following the 1998 tornadoes in Oklahoma City and Wichita. Locally, he was involved in the creation of the Johnson County Building Officials Association and the Johnson County Contractor Licensing Program. He remains responsible for the Program’s associated education seminars, considered by many to be the second largest code education program in the United States. Jerry has been honored by the ICC as the 2007 Code Official of the Year and the 2003 Community Service Award recipient. He has also received the 2007 Member of the Year Award from the Heart of America Chapter, ICC. In 1998 the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement presented him with the Gene Waggoner Award for Outstanding Service.